Home | Breaking News | 4 nominated as UGC professor, 70 as Ph.D fellow
Representational Image

4 nominated as UGC professor, 70 as Ph.D fellow

WT24 Desk

University Grants Commission (UGC) today nominated four renowned researchers as UGC professor for two years and 70 teachers of different public universities and government colleges as UGC Ph.D fellow for next three years, Agencies report.

The commission nominated the UGC professors and Ph.D fellows at a meeting held at the commission office in the city’s Agargaon with UGC Chairman Professor Abdul Mannan in the chair, said an UGC press release here.

A UGC professor will receive a monthly honorarium, which shall be equivalent to the highest monthly salary of a selection grade professor.

A UGC professor will be attached to a university or an approved research institution of his or her choice.

The nominated UGC professors are: Professor Dr. M. Muhibur Rahman of Chemistry Department, Dhaka University, Professor Dr. Md. Abul Mansur Chowdhury and Jamal Nazrul Islam of Mathematics and Physical Science Research Centre, Chittagong University, Professor Selimur Rahman of Hepatology Department, Bangabandhuy Shiekh Mujib Medical University and Professor Dr. M Alfaz Uddin of Physics Department, Rajshahi University. According to UGC professorship guideline, retired renowned researchers of Bangladesh are given UGC professorship.

Besides, this year, a total of 72 teachers of different public universities and government colleges applied for UGC Ph.D fellowship. Among them 70 were nominated as UGC Ph.D fellow.

The number of UGC Ph.D fellow was 50 last year while the number of applicants was 65. A Ph.D fellow will receive Taka 15,000 per month in next three years as the amount of fellowship has been increased to Taka 15,000 from Taka 10,000.

UGC Members Professor Dr. Mohammad Yousuf Ali Mollah, Professor Dr. Dil Afroza Begum, Professor Dr. M. Shah Nowaz Ali, and Jahangirnagar University Vice-Chancellor Professor Dr. Farzana Islam and Research Support and Publication Division Director Md. Shamsul Alam were present at the meeting, among others, the release added.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: