Home | Breaking News | 5 MPs nominated as DU senate members
Representational Image

5 MPs nominated as DU senate members

WT24 Desk

Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury nominated five members of parliament (MPs) as senate members of Dhaka University (DU), UNB reports.

The five MPs are Abul Kalam Azad (Jamalpur-1), Mohammad Hasan Mahmud (Chittagong-7), Iqbalur Rahim (Dinajpur-3), Dr Dipu Moni (Chandpur-3) and Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh (Dhaka-10).

The Speaker of Jatiya Sangsad nominated the five Awami League MPs as senate members of the university as per the Article 20 (1) of the Dhaka University Order, 1973, said a DU release on Friday.

According to the Article 20 (1) of the Dhaka University Order, the Senate shall consist of the Vice-Chancellor, the Pro-Vice-Chancellors, the treasurers, five government officials nominated by the government, five MPs nominated by the Speaker, five distinguished educationists nominated by the Chancellor, five representatives of research bodies nominated by the syndicate, five principals of colleges and 10 teachers of colleges nominated by the Academic council, the Chairman of Dhaka Intermediate and Secondary Education Board, 25 elected representatives of registered graduates, 35 elected representatives of teachers, five representatives of students nominated by the University Central Students Union.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: