Home | Breaking News | AL bags 4 mayoral posts, BNP 3 in re-voting
Representational Image

AL bags 4 mayoral posts, BNP 3 in re-voting

WT24 Desk

Awami League candidates won four mayoral posts while BNP contestants came out victorious in three municipalities, where balloting was postponed following allegations of anomalies and violence on December 30, UNB reports.  Re-voting held in 51 polling stations of 20 municipalities on Tuesday decided seven mayoral posts and 72 councillor posts.

The voting started at 8am and continued till 4pm without any break. In Madaripur, AL mayoral candidate Enayet Hossain won the election in Kalkini municipality securing 7,128 votes against AL rebel Mashiur Rahman Sabuj who got 6,079 votes.   In Narsingdi, AL’s Mosharraf Hossain Pradhan Manik (12,132) won in Madhabdi municipality beating BNP candidate Haji M Ilias (8,205).

In Noakhali, AL mayoral candidate Akhter Hossain (14,787) defeated BNP contestant M Jahir Uddin (10,807) in Chaumuhani municipality.  In Barguna, ABM Golam Kabir of the ruling party (2,685) won the election in Betagi municipality defeating nearest contestant Humayun Kabir (1,635) of BNP.  BNP’s mayoral candidate Tarik Abul Alam won the election in Ulipur municipality of Kurigram defeating nearest Awami League rebel Sajedur Rahman.

Tarik bagged 8,994 votes while Sajedur Rahman polled 5,853.  In Nilphamary, BNP’s mayoral candidate Amzad Hossain Sarker outplayed his Awami League’s hopeful Sakhawat Hossain in Syedpur municipality.  Amzad secured 27,712 votes while Sakhwat got 22,212 votes.   In Thakurgaon municipality, BNP candidate Mirza Faisal Amin defeated AL’s Tahmina Akhter Mollah.

Faisal Amin bagged 19,184 votes while Tahmina polled 12,744.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: