Home | Breaking News | Bangladesh clinch maiden SAFF U-16 Championship
Bangladeshi players and fans celebrate as the colts dethrone India to lift SAFF Under-16 Championship trophy in a tiebreaker.

Bangladesh clinch maiden SAFF U-16 Championship

WT24 Desk

Bangladesh U-16 team made the nation proud as they kept the winning run intact by clinching the maiden SAFF Under-16 Championship on Tuesday, agencies report.  The boys in red and green won the coveted trophy by beating defending champions India by 4-2 goals in penalty shootout in keenly contested final at the Sylhet District Stadium. The match rolled into a tie breaker after the regulation time ended by 1-1 goal draw.

The match was locked goalless at the breather.  Bangladesh went to attack in the 21st minute but Mostajib Khan’s header from inside the danger zone sailed harmlessly over the crosspiece.  In the next minute Bangladesh skipper Shawon must considers him as unlucky as his well-judge shot at the top of the D box narrowly went out over the cross piece.
India also came launched a counter attacks in the 35th minute but  Bangladeshi custodian Faisal was superb under the bar foiling both the attempt.

Bangladesh finally broke the deadlock just after the resumption of the play. Fahim Murshed gave Bangladesh a deserving lead in the 46th minute with a well-judge shot from the close range taking a cross from Mohammad Shawon cheering the specters at the big bowl.  However, the visitors restored the parity in the 69th minute when Abinash Maragker powerful long distance shot directly found the net giving no chance to Bangladesh custodian Faisal react under the bar.

Bangladesh clearly dominated the entire proceeding and notched their deserving victory. SAFF president Kazi Salahuddin distributed the prizes as the chief guest. Earlier, Bangladesh stormed into final of the championship for the first time when they beat Afghanistan in the first semifinal while India secured the final spot outplaying Nepal by a solitary goal in the second semis.
Bangladesh – Faisal, Shawon, Fahim, Hridoy, M Shawon, Swad Uddin,  Atiquazzaman, Sajib, Khalil, Mostajib and Emon.
India – Saqlain, Ajin, Rakip, Shajahan, Abinash, Rahim, Jeremi, Aimol, Avijit, Jianchun, Proskan Singh.
Referee: Nobindra Moharjon (Nepal)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: