Home | Bangladesh | Bangladesh beat Zimbabwe, seal ODI series
Bangladesh team mates celebrate after Mashrafe Mortaza dismissed Zimababwe's Masakadza in the 3rd ODI on Wednesday.

Bangladesh beat Zimbabwe, seal ODI series

Bangladesh yesterday beat visiting Zimbabwe by a big margin of 124 runs in the third ODI to seal the five-match series 3-0 in Dhaka’s Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium.
Anamul Haque, who scored 95 during Bangladesh’s pile of 297 runs, was awarded man of the match. Tamim Iqbal and Shakib Al Hasan both scored 40.
Tinashe Panyangara was the most successful of the Zimbabwe bowlers with two wickets. Kamungozi, Masakadza and Madziva claimed one wicket each.
In reply, Zimbabwe folded at 173 runs with more than 10 overs to spare. Only skipper Elton Chigumbura could stand and was not out in the end at 53.
Left arm spinner Arafat Sunny clipped four wickets for Bangladesh. Mashrafe Mortaza and Rubel Hossain claimed two wickets each, and Shakib and Mahmudullah got one each.
Bangladesh played a good start and at one point a score of over 320 seemed possible. But, the scoring rate slowed down in the last 10 overs.
The batting was especially disappointing for Zimbabwe as they got out mostly with the wrong shots with the exception of Masakadza who appeared to have been unlucky.
For Bangladesh, the early overs in the last 10 suggested that the score could have been over 320. However, the scoring rate went down and wickets were lost.
Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Arafat Sunny, Rubel Hossain and Shafiul Islam.
Timycen Maruma, Hamilton Masakadza, Vusi Sibanda, Brendan Taylor, Regis Chakabva, Elton Chigumbura (capt), Peter Moor, Tinashe Panyangara, Neville Madziva, Solomon Mire and Tafadzwa Kamungozi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: