Home | Breaking News | Election to 19 UPs, Khetlal municipality Tuesday
Representational Image

Election to 19 UPs, Khetlal municipality Tuesday

WT24 Desk

Khetlal municipality in Joypurhat and 19 Union Parishads (UPs) under different districts are going to polls on Tuesday, Agencies report.

Besides, by-elections to different posts of 40 more UPs and elections to various posts of 11 Zila Parishads will be held on the day.

“Nearly 60 UPs in 47 upazilas under 37 districts will go to polls or by-polls on Tuesday, while Khetlal municipality will go to regular polls. Also elections will be held to different reserved seats and member posts of 11 Zila Parishads on the day,” said Director (PR) at the Election Commission Secretariat SM Asaduzzaman on Monday.

The balloting will begin at 8am and continue till 4pm without any break.

The 19 UPs that are up for polls are Guridah in Saghata Upazila of Gaibandha, Durgapur in Kahaloo of Bogra, Charmandaliya, Khidirpur and Kishnapur in Monohardi of Narsigndi, Chithlia and Dhubail in Mirpur of Kushtia, Shakpur and Bhaoksar in Barura of Comilla, Panchagram and Peroli in Kalia of Narail, Dhulkhola in Hizla and Shikarpur of Wazipur of Barisal, Sonakata in Taltali of Barguna, Barohkheri, Char Abdullah and Char Algi in Ramgati of Lakshmipur, Barohor in Ullapara of Sirajganj and Bharhra in Nagarpur of Tangail.

A total of 41 judicial magistrates were deployed for four days from May 21 in 41 upazilas to check the violation of the election code of conduct in the election areas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: