Home | Breaking News | Fletcher 84* lifts WI to second win
File photo: Andre Fletcher was playing his first T20I since November 2015 © West Indies Cricket

Fletcher 84* lifts WI to second win

WT24 Desk

A well-oiled West Indian batting machine will be chasing again in Bangalore, and there was a new cog added to it tonight. Andre Fletcher came into the XI at the expense of fast bowler Jerome Taylor, ESPNcricinfo reports.

Darren Sammy thought they had enough options in the bowling department. He, Carlos Brathwaite and Andre Russell can bowl seam up. Legspinner Samuel Badree and left-arm spinner Sulieman Benn may not like the small boundaries at the M Chinnaswamy stadium, but they will hope the pitch, which had some bare patches might help the ball turn a bit more after it gets older.

Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews admitted losing Lasith Malinga was a “blow,” but added that “we have what we have. We have to move on.” They were moving on with legspinner Jeffrey Vandersay, who will partner the wily Rangana Herath and allrounder Milinda Siriwardana.

Nuwan Kulasekara, Dushmantha Chameera, Mathews and Thisara Perera were Sri Lanka’s fast bowling options.

The team batting second has won 40 out of 75 T20 games in Bangalore and much will depend on the 39-year old in-form Tillakaratne Dilshan to provide a big enough total to put one over on history and a power-packed West Indies side.

West Indies 1.Chris Gayle, 2 Johnson Charles, 3 Marlon Samuels, 4 Andrew Fletcher, 5 Dwayne Bravo, 6 Andre Russell, 7 Darren Sammy, 8 Dinesh Ramdin (wk), 9 Carlos Brathwaite, 10 Samuel Badree, 11 Sulieman Benn

Sri Lanka 1.Tillakaratne Dilshan, 2 Dinesh Chandimal (wk), 3 Lahiru Thirimanne, 4 Milinda Siriwardana, 5 Angelo Mathews (capt), 6 Thisara Perera, 7 Chamara Kapugedera, 8 Shehan Jayasuriya, 9 Nuwan Kulasekara, 10 Dushmantha Chameera, 11 Rangana Herath

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: