Home | Breaking News | Tigers opt to bat first against Afghans
Representational image.

Tigers opt to bat first against Afghans

WT24 Desk

Bangladesh won the toss and opted to bat first against Afghanistan in the 3rd ODI of their three-match series at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium (SBNCS) on Saturday,UNB reports.

There are two changes in the Bangladesh playing XI for the series decider match with inclusion left-arm spinner Mosharraf Hossain in the place of Taijul Islam. Mosharraf Hossain played his last international eight years back for the national side. Pace bowler Shafiul Islam replaced Rubel Hossain.

Afghanistan brought in all-rounder Samiullah Shenwari to replace young pacemant Naveen-ul-Haq, the pacer, who played in the first two ODIs. This match is a must-win one for the series win for both sides as the series result tied in 1-1.

Bangladesh had taken the series lead with a seven-run victory in the 1st match on Sunday (Sept 25) while ICC associate Afghanistan leveled it upsetting the Test playing hosts by two wickets on Wednesday (Sept 28), both held at the SBNCS.

If Afghanistan can manage a win that will lead them to the series victory, and it will be their first against any team ranked higher than Zimbabwe in ODIs.

Bangladesh squad: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rahman Roman, Mosaddek Hossain, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (captain), Shafiul Islam, Mosharraf Hossain and Taskin Ahmed.

Afghanistan squad: Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Nawroz Mangal, Asghar Stanikzai (captain),Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Samiullah Shinwari, Rashid Khan, Mirwais Ashraf and Dawlat Zadran.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: