Breaking News
Home | National | 13 receive Independence Award

13 receive Independence Award

12 personalities, 1 organization among the winners

WT24 Desk

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Monday handed over the Independence Award, the country’s highest state honour, to 12 personalities and one organisation in recognition of their remarkable contributions to the nation, Agencies report.

The Prime Minister handed over the awards at a function at Bangabandhu International Conference Centre.

The recipients of the award in Liberation War and Independence category are martyred intellectual MufazzalHaiderChaudhury and martyred ATM ZafarAlam, Liberation War Affairs Minister AKM MozammelHaque and former Housing and Public Works Minister MosharrafHossain, DrKaziMisbahunNahar, late Prof Abdul Khaleque and late Prof Mohammad Khaled.

Brigadier General DrNurunnaharFatema Begum received the award in Medical Science, while DrQaziKholiquzzaman Ahmad in Social Service, Murtaja Bashir in Culture, HasanAzizulHaque in Literature, Prof DrHasina Khan in Research and Training.

Bangladesh Institute of Nuclear Agriculture (BINA)received the award in Science and Technology category.

Cabinet Secretary MdShafiulAlam conducted the function and read out the citations of the Independence Award recipients with their brief life sketches.

Each award recipient was given a medal weighing 50 grams of gold of 18 karat, Tk 3 lakh and a citation.

Since 1977, Bangladesh has been honouring individuals and institutions with the award every year ahead of Independence Day on Mar 26.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

It’s an accident; BSF showed “hegemony”

Foreign Minister Dr AK Abdul Momen on Saturday termed the recent exchange of fire between ...

Rewarding assassins led to trend of child killings

The then government’s actions to secure indemnity for the killers of child Sheikh Russell and ...