Breaking News
Home | National | Cent percent electricity coverage by 2021

Cent percent electricity coverage by 2021

PM opens 7 power plants, 23 more upazilas get full electricity 

WT24 Desk

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina said the country will hopefully come under cent percent electricity coverage during the ‘Mujib Year’, which will be celebrated from March 2020 to March 2021, Agencies report.

She said: “We hope to endure cent percent electricity across the country within the “Mujib Borsho” to be observed from March 2020 to March 2021 marking the birth centenary celebration of Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman.”

The prime minister made the disclosure while inaugurating seven power plants, which added 790 megawatt power to the national grid, and complete electrification at 23 upazilas, through a videoconference from her official residence Ganabhaban in Dhaka.

The premier said, “We are committed to ensure electricity to every house in building a poverty-free country as electricity creates opportunity for job employment.”

“After assuming office in 1996, we only got 1600 MW electricity and we increased the figure to 4300 MW,” she added.

Sheikh Hasina also urged all to exercise austerity in using electricity. 

The new seven power plants are: Anwara 300 MW Power Plant, Rangpur 113 MW Power Plant, Karnaphuli 110 MW Power Plant, Shikalbaha 105 MW Power Plant, Patia 54 MW Power Plant, Tentulia 8 MW Solar Power Plant and Gazipur 100 MW Power Plant.

With this venture, country’s power generation capacity stands at 22,562 MW as about 95 percent people of the country have been brought under electricity coverage.

At the same time, Sheikh Hasina also launched cent percent power coverage in 23 upazilas under ten districts of the country.

The 23 upazilas which have come under cent percent power coverage are: Gabtali, Sherpur and Shibganj in Bogura district, Lohagara in Chattogram, Madhukhali, Nagarkanda and Saltha in Faridpur district, Fulchhari, Gaibandha Sadar and Palashbari in Gaibandha district, and Madhappur and Nabiganj in Habiganj district. Besides, Kaliganj and Maheshpur in Jhenaidah district, Karimganj under Kishoreganj, Baraigram, Lalpur and Singra under Natore district, Barhatta and Mahonganj in Netrakona district, Bhandaria, Kaukhali and Indurkani under Pirojpur district have come under cent percent electricity coverage from Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

Modi, Sonia to join Mujib Borsho celebrations showing deeper bonding

Dhaka, Delhi want to take ties to newer heights WT24 Desk Indian Prime Minister Narendra ...

‘Bangladeshi engineers making marks globally’

CUET celebrates Golden Jubilee amid festivity and fanfare WT24 Desk Information Minister Dr Hasan Mahmud ...